Twinkle twinkle little star

I'm staying at my Mums house for a few days and tonight whilst I was putting the baby womb fruit to bed I stood there and swayed with her, in my arms whilst badly singing 'twinkle twinkle little star' and 'rockabye baby'. As I was stood there I was thinking crikey, can you imagine if people saw me now, stood here rocking my baby to sleep. They'd be shoving the attachment parenting we've kind of done with her down my throat and telling me how good baby's go to sleep in their cots, alone, no rocking just independent.

Three things struck me:

1) Do I enjoy it? Yes I love rocking my baby to sleep and watching her nod off into a lovely slumber

2) Does she enjoy it? Without a single doubt

3) Does it affect anyone? Nope

Then it hit me, why do I actually care? Why would it actually matter to anyone how my baby goes to sleep tonight? And if anyone was to make a negative comment about it then I guess that's their problem and says a lot about them no?

I think I'm probably a bit prickly about this type of thing as I've come across a lot of negativity when attachment parenting is talked about, the rod for your back comment comes up a lot and its perceived as being a bit alternative and hippy like, yet is actually pretty close to how nature intended us to parent and I find it sad its seen as the norm to encourage your child not to be dependable on you.

So what I'm trying to say is stop worrying about what other people say, if it works for you and your baby / child and you're both happy then who cares.

The end.

 

One thought on “Twinkle twinkle little star

  1. Pingback: I ate my placenta.. | The life of me

Leave a comment